Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark Agentic AI Laptop Review
KUALA LUMPUR — Asus and NVIDIA have submitted the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark laptop to extensive long-term evaluation in Malaysia, with findings published by Lowyat.NET on 28 October 2026. Tested by technology journalist John Law, the mobile workstation evaluates on-device agentic artificial intelligence performance powered by NVIDIA's 20-core Blackwell silicon. Official pricing for the Malaysian market remains unconfirmed by Asus Malaysia. The evaluation reveals that while the machine successfully executes local reasoning models offline, severe battery consumption and continuous high fan noise present substantial operational hurdles for Malaysian creators and developers seeking portable productivity away from mains power.
Key Facts
The Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark is a high-performance laptop designed to run local agentic artificial intelligence tasks on-device. Evaluated in Malaysia by Lowyat.NET on 28 October 2026, the machine integrates NVIDIA Blackwell architecture with unified system memory to execute complex machine learning models without requiring constant internet access.
NVIDIA's 20-core RTX Spark processor pairs with 64GB of LPDDR5-9600 unified memory to power local agentic AI execution.
| Attribute | Value |
| Product Model | Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark |
| Processor | NVIDIA RTX Spark (20-Core) |
| Graphics Core Count | 6,144 Blackwell CUDA cores |
| Unified Memory | 64GB LPDDR5-9600 (half of maximum 128GB capacity) |
| AI Agents Tested | Hermes, Unsloth |
| Models Evaluated | Qwen3.8 27b, Qwen3.5-9b, Qwen 3-8b, Flux 2 Klein 4b |
| Peak Temperature | 72°C (online and offline) |
| Battery Drain (Hermes Task) | 12% per run |
| Malaysian Retail Price | Not disclosed in source review |
| Evaluation Date | 28 October 2026 |
How Does the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark Handle Local AI Tasks?
The Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark executes local AI agents both offline and online across multiple parameter scales, but benchmark reliability remains inconsistent. During Lowyat.NET testing, the laptop successfully ran Hermes and Unsloth agents, taking between five and ten minutes to process tasks depending on internet connectivity and the specific model selected.
During evaluation by John Law on 28 October 2026, the reviewer utilised the Hermes agent paired with the Qwen3.8 27b language model to construct a hardware monitoring dashboard tracking CPU utilisation, GPU utilisation, and logic processor activities. The initial dashboard build took 10 minutes to finish, while a subsequent run completed faster, yielding an average execution time of eight minutes across two runs.
Secondary agent testing involved Unsloth running the Qwen3.5-9b model alongside a Frameview 2.0 dataset. When connected to the internet, Unsloth completed the workload in approximately six minutes. Disconnecting the machine from the internet resulted in an improved average completion time of five minutes across two successive offline runs.
Software stability varied across standard testing suites. MLPerf Client 2.0.1 initially failed to initiate until the laptop was restarted, after which Qwen 3-8b and Flux 2 Klein 4b completed their runs in an average of eight minutes, excluding model download durations. SpeedBench, designed to benchmark token generation speeds with realistic prompts, failed entirely to run at launch.
Running the aforementioned functions on an agent like Hermes isn’t passive and gets loud; the ProArt P16’s fans spin at full speed in order to keep the entire machine cool.
John Law, Lowyat.NET
Offline model execution using Unsloth and Qwen3.5-9b completed in an average of five minutes, outpacing its six-minute connected run.
What Are the Battery and Thermal Penalties of Running Local AI Models?
Running on-device AI models on the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark creates severe battery consumption and maximum fan noise despite maintaining stable operating temperatures. The laptop reached a peak thermal limit of 72°C during testing, while running a single agent task depleted 12% of the battery pack regardless of prior model caching.
The thermal management system engaged aggressively whenever agentic workloads commenced. Cooling fans spun at maximum velocity to dissipate heat during processing, successfully capping peak component temperatures at 72°C across both connected and disconnected testing environments.
Power efficiency presented substantial operational limitations. Downloading necessary execution dependencies and conducting an initial training run on Hermes consumed 12% of the laptop's battery capacity. Although the secondary run completed approximately three minutes faster with cached files, battery consumption remained static at 12%. Law noted that leaving monitoring parameters running in the background continued to drain battery power rapidly after task completion.
Executing an AI agent workflow consumed 12% of the laptop's battery reserve per run while forcing cooling fans to operate at full speed.
What It Means for Malaysian Buyers
Malaysian creative professionals and software developers should approach the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark with measured expectations regarding mobile independence. While local retail pricing and release timelines remain unannounced by Asus Malaysia, high continuous power draw limits its genuine utility as an untethered, on-the-go artificial intelligence workstation in local workflows.
The source review contains no official Malaysian pricing in ringgit (RM), nor does it confirm local distributor availability through channels such as Compu-zone, Viewnet, or Sri Computers. Similarly, regulatory certifications through SIRIM and warranty terms for the Malaysian territory have not yet been detailed by Asus Malaysia.
Prospective buyers in Malaysia who require a portable machine for field coding or mobile model inference may find the platform impractical on battery power. Until software optimisation reduces background power consumption and benchmark stability improves across tools like SpeedBench and MLPerf Client 2.0.1, local professionals may be better served waiting for dedicated power consumption and battery life benchmarks.
Asus Malaysia has not confirmed official local retail pricing or launch dates for the ProArt P16 RTX Spark.
Common Questions
What hardware specifications power the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark?
The evaluated Asus ProArt P16 features a 20-core NVIDIA RTX Spark processor containing 6,144 Blackwell CUDA cores. The review unit incorporates 64GB of LPDDR5-9600 unified memory, representing half of the platform's maximum 128GB memory capacity.
Can the laptop run AI agents without an internet connection?
Yes, the laptop successfully processes AI models offline. Testing with the Unsloth agent and the Qwen3.5-9b model with Frameview 2.0 completed in an average of five minutes disconnected from the internet, which was faster than the six minutes required when online.
What is the official price of the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark in Malaysia?
The source review does not state an official Malaysian retail price or international pricing for the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark. Asus Malaysia has not formally disclosed local availability, distributor pricing, or warranty packages for this specific hardware configuration.
Sources and Methodology
This report analyses technical data published by Malaysian technology publication Lowyat.NET in its long-term review of the Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark. Verified benchmarks and operational observations were documented by reviewer John Law on 28 October 2026. No pricing conversions were applied as retail figures were not disclosed.
- Primary Source: Lowyat.NET long-term review entitled "Long Term Review: Asus ProArt P16 RTX Spark – AI Agent-ing On Spark" by John Law, published on 28 October 2026.
- URL: https://www.lowyat.net/2026/408632/lt-review-asus-proart-p16-rtx-spark-ai/ (accessed 28 October 2026).
- Data Scope: Direct analysis of hardware specifications, benchmark runtimes, thermals, and battery consumption figures recorded in the original article.
All benchmark timings, thermal figures, and battery drain metrics originate directly from hands-on testing conducted by Lowyat.NET on 28 October 2026.
Related coverage
More Laptops & PCs →Filed under
- #Tech
- #Nintendo
- #PC Gaming
- #Review
Network · latest from sister sites